Republicans Advance Ban on First Trimester Abortions

A Republican-led state House subcommittee of all men voted 5-1 Wednesday, Feb. 20 to advance legislation HB0077 that would ban first trimester abortions after six weeks.

The bill sponsor Rep. Micah Van Huss (R-Jonesborough), who is a web programmer, told the committee this legislation would prohibit abortion procedures after a heart beat can be detected — “six and half weeks on average.”

At six weeks, many women wouldn’t even know they were pregnant. This legislation could ultimately take away a woman’s right to make her own medical decisions before she even knew she had a decision to make.

An attorney for the House Subcommittee on Public Health told members the legislation, if made law, would be likely be subjected to “constitutional scrutiny.”

Takeaway: HB0077 is an intrusion into the personal lives of Tennesseans. Important life and health decisions should be made by individuals in consultation with their doctors and their families, not politicians.

How they voted: House Subcommittee on Public Health, Feb. 20
Aye: Rep. Jerry Sexton, Rep. Matthew Hill, Rep. Bryan Terry, Rep. Micah Van Huss, Rep. Sam Whitson
No: Rep. Vincent Dixie (D-Nashville) District 54
Present, Not Voting: Rep. Larry Miller (D-Memphis) District 88

Who’s sponsoring the bill:
The bill’s sponsor is Rep. James (Micah) Van Huss (R-Gray), District 6. Co-sponsors are listed as: 
Rep. William Lamberth (R-Portland) District 44
Rep. Scott Cepicky (R-Culleoka) District 64
Rep. Matthew Hill (R-Jonesborough) District 7
Rep. Jerome Moon (R-Maryville) District 8
Rep. Rick Eldridge (R-Morristown) District 10
Rep. Bruce Griffey (R-Paris) District 75
Rep. Paul Sherrell (R-Sparta), District 43
Rep. Kent Calfee (R-Kingston), District 32
Rep. John Crawford (R-Kingsport) District 1
Rep. Jason Zachary (R-Knoxville)
Rep. Chris Todd (R-Jackson), District 73
Rep. Timothy Hill (R-Blountville), District 3
Rep. Jay Reedy (R-Erin), District 74
Rep. Mark Hall (R-Cleveland), District 24
Rep. Tim Rudd (R-Murfreesboro), District 34
Rep. John Ragan (R-Oak Ridge), District 33
Rep. Robin Smith (R-Hixson) District 26
Rep. Bud Hulsey (R-Kingsport) District 2
Rep. Clay Doggett (R-Pulaski) District 70
Rep. Dan Howell (R-Cleveland) District 22
Rep. David Byrd (R-Waynesboro) District 71
Rep. Tom Leatherwood (R-Arlington) District 99
Rep. Ryan Williams (R-Cookeville) District 42
Rep. Dennis Powers (R-Jacksboro) District 36
Rep. Dale Carr (R-Sevierville) District 12
Rep. Terri Lynn Weaver (R-Lancaster) District 40
Speaker Glen Casada (R-Franklin) District 63
Rep. Mary Littleton (R-Dickson) District 78
Rep. Debra Moody (R-Covington) District 81
Rep. Mike Sparks (R-Smyrna) District 49
Rep. Bill Sanderson (R-Kenton) District 77
Rep. Mark Cochran (R-Englewood) District 23
Rep. Mike Carter (R-Ooltewah) District 29
Rep. Sabi Kumar (R-Springfield) District 66
Rep. Curtis Halford (R-Dyer) District 79
Rep. Andy Holt (R-Dresdent) District 76
Rep. Jim Coley (R-Bartlett) District 97
Rep. Kirk Haston (R-Lobelville) District 72
Rep. Jerry Sexton (R-Bean Station) District 35
Rep. Charlie Baum (R-Murfreesboro) District 37
Rep. Andrew Farmer (R-Sevierville) District 17
Rep. Kelly Keilsling (R-Byrdstown) District 38
Rep. Brandon Ogles (R-Franklin) District 61
Rep. Bryan Terry (R-Murfreesboro) District 48
Rep. Sam Whitson (R-Franklin) District 65
Rep. Chris Hurt (R-Halls) District 82
Rep. Ron Gant (R-Rossville) District 94
Rep. Esther Helton (R-East Ridge) District 30
Rep. Rush Bricken (R-Tullahoma) District 47